FOOD: El Toro Spanish Tapas Restaurant

El Toro, Hull.

EL TORO – 45-47 Princes Avenue, Hull.

As Hull’s food scene continues to expand, (in both size and cultural variety) a rather large handful of eateries persistently lure customers through their doors.

Now, this isn’t just because these places serve good food, at good prices. I believe that a collective of Hull’s restaurants have turned themselves into niche eating ‘experiences’ that offer a kind of, let’s say – a ‘uniquely authentic atmosphere’.

I say this in the most positive sense of course, and you may not quite understand what I’m trying to get at, so I’ll try and explain as best I can.

For a number of years, I have eaten in some very nice places around the city, however recently I have been pleasantly surprised at the variety of different cuisines on offer in the surrounding area.

Both Newland and Princes Avenue have become a safe-haven for the ‘quirky’ type bars and restaurants, which attract not only students and locals, but also those who like to experiment with their dining ventures.

So, one of the front-runners, in my opinion at least, is Princes Avenue’s Spanish tapas restaurant, El Toro.

Having eaten there a number of times, I have fallen in love with the beautifully rustic (and affordable) food, along with it’s charmingly authentic and busy vibe.

Whilst away at university (in Huddersfield) I made an effort to find the best places to eat and drink right from the word ‘go’ in my first year. Having now finished my degree, I can safely say that none of the tapas bars in the West Yorkshire area come close to El Toro.

Not once have I stepped through their welcoming doors to see a drab, lifeless place with only a handful of people eating in each corner. Rather, El Toro’s tables are full of happy diners tucking into what can only be called, little works of art.

Now, aside from their first rate Spanish cuisine, one thing that I find a real selling point for El Toro is the fact that their waiters and waitresses are ALL Spanish.

With a subtle rambling from the busy staff in the background, this minor touch immediately contributes to the overall feel and ambience of the place, and is (at least for me) a real plus at a themed restaurant – they can also stand in as a translator for those of us who attempt to pronounce the dishes on the menu.

Aside from the attentive and friendly service, the main element (the food) is a real winner. Having eaten there a handful of times, the food has never ceased to deliver in both quality and quantity.

After taking my other half (who is obviously a huge fan too), and starting with the stereotypical bread, oil and olives, the plates of tapas flowed casually alongside their house wine.

Everything was cooked to perfection, in typical rustic fashion – with lashings of olive oil, alioli and the odd segment of lemon to cleanse your well-treat pallet.

Now, I must say, I do have a rather large appetite and even I struggled to stomach the majority of their offerings, but this is not to say it was the quality of the food that prevented me from wiping the plates clean. Rather I wanted to avoid having to waddle through their front doors…

But anyway, after waffling on about what I like and what the place has to offer (in abundance) I leave you with my go to dishes and refreshments.

WHAT TO EAT

I myself am a huge fan of fish, so I would strongly recommend the ‘Pescado Blanco’. These chunks of white fish in fluffy batter are moreish as hell and come with alioli, for a match made in Spanish heaven.

However, for those who are not so fond of seafood, why not go for the ‘Albondigas’. Now these may sound like your typical tapas meatballs, smothered in a rich tomato sauce, and at first glance you’d probably be right. But, these are by far and away the nicest meatballs I have eaten in a long time, and this dish is a safe bet if you can’t quite make your mind up.

For the vegetarian option of course, aside from the obvious go-to dish of either ‘Patatas Bravas’ or some mixed olives, why not opt for the ‘Croquetas de Manchego’. These little beauties are to die for (no literally) and really do deliver in flavour – I mean who doesn’t like breaded, fried creamy manchego cheese?

However, for those of you who tend to opt for a less ‘traditional dish’ or just aren’t a fan of tapas, El Toro caters for all with a separate main menu; offering dishes cooked with patatas bravas, lamb, chicken and all sorts of Spanish loveliness (however I must say I have not ventured away from their tapas – it’s just too good).

WHAT TO DRINK

Sangria. That was always going to be the first recommendation when eating in a tapas restaurant. Not only is it tasty, affordable at just £12.95 a jug and brilliantly fruity, this delivers on all levels and makes the whole dining experience that little bit more Spanish.

My next go to drink would be El Toro’s house white. Now I know a house bottle would normally put you off, however their ‘Los Pastos Sauvignon Blanc’ (number 2 on their wine list) is a brilliantly refreshing accompaniment to their rich cuisine.

Hopefully this has given you a little insight into our experiences at this little gem. But if you want to be sure of what’s on offer before you make your decision, visit http://www.eltorohull.co.uk/en/

We at Hullture Hub would most definitely recommend venturing down Princes Avenue, taking your family, partner or a whole host of friends for a little taste of Spain in the heart of Hull. OLE!

FOOD: El Toro Spanish Tapas Restaurant

Leave a comment